NGS Presents Awards at Opening Session of Conference


NGS Presents Awards Honoring Excellence in 

E-newsletter Editorship and Service to NGS

NGS started its four-day Family History Conference in Sacramento, California, on 25 Could 2022 on the SAFE Credit score Union Conference Middle. Following the Opening Session’s keynote handle, entitled “The Chinese language Who Constructed America’s Transcontinental Railroad” by Gordon H. Chang, NGS Awards Chair Judy Nimer Muhn offered a number of awards to honor the convention’s native volunteer management and to acknowledge the winners of the NGS E-newsletter Competitors and the Rubincam Youth Writing Competitors. Additionally offered have been the Family tree Tourism Award, the President’s Quotation, Rabbi Malcolm H. Stern Lifetime Achievement Award, and The Shirley Langdon Wilcox Award for Exemplary Volunteerism.

The Award of Honor was offered to the California Genealogical Society, James Sorenson, president, in recognition of the Society’s dedication and sustained service in help of the NGS 2022 Household Historical past Convention.

Certificates of Appreciation got to committee chairs who labored tirelessly to guarantee the success of the convention. The honorees included: Native Host Committee Chair Jane Knowles Lindsey; Excursions Chair Patricia Smith; Occasion Co-Chairs Jane Knowles Lindsey and Larry Youngman; Hospitality Chair Sheri Fenley; Publicity Chair Kathleen Beitiks; Convention Blogger Roger Prince; Registration Chair Joanna Shear; Know-how Chair Theresa Murphy; Vendor Co-Chairs Wealthy Kehoe, James Sorenson, and Leslie Sorenson; and Volunteer Co-Chairs Maureen Hanlon and Chris Pattillo.

Family tree Tourism Award 

The Family tree Tourism Award was offered to the West Florida Genealogical Society of Pensacola, Florida, in recognition of its 1821 Sampler challenge in commemoration of Florida’s Territorial Bicentennial and Escambia County’s 2 hundredth anniversary. The challenge is a notable addition to analysis assets and encourages household historical past tourism, which this award seeks to advertise.

The winners of the 2022 NGS E-newsletter Competitors, honoring excellence in e-newsletter editorship in two classes, are:

E-newsletter for a Small Society with lower than 500 members
Winner: E-newsletter of the Irish Household Historical past Discussion board, Irish Household Historical past Discussion board, Plainview, New York, edited by Jim Regan.

Honorable Point out: The Archivist, Genealogical Society of Bergen County, Midland Park, New Jersey, edited by Michelle D. Novak.

E-newsletter for a Massive Society with greater than 500 members
Winner: The Discussion board Insider, Genealogical Discussion board of Oregon, Portland, Oregon, edited by Geri Auerbach and Keri Logan

Rubincam Youth Writing Competitors was established in 1986 to encourage and acknowledge our youth as the following technology of household historians. It honors Milton Rubincam, CG, FASG, FNGS, for his a few years of service to NGS and to the sphere of family tree.

Junior Rubincam Youth Award
Winner: Maverick C. Marsh for “My Papa: The Lifetime of My Grandfather, Dr. David Wren, Jr.”

Honorable Point out: Mandy Chang for “Chang Lian Sheng” and Emily Feichthaler for “My Mom, My Hero”

Senior Rubincam Youth Award
Winner: Julian Ananyev for “One Household’s Journey By way of Eurasia To America”

Honorable Point out: Riley Miller, “Solid In Hearth” and Trinity Thai, “The Family tree of the Thai Household”

The Shirley Langdon Wilcox Award for Exemplary Volunteerism acknowledges a volunteer whose generosity of spirit and time has drastically benefited the Nationwide Genealogical Society and the genealogical group generally. Daybreak Carey Henry of DeWitt, Michigan, is that this yr’s award recipient. Throughout days, weeks, and months succeeding the merger of the Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS) with NGS (2020-2021), Henry served as the primary chair of the Delegate Council Steering Committee. She guided this advisory group of representatives from societies and organizations because it constructed its framework and operational procedures and outlined the function of the society delegates. She continues to help the present steering committee when wanted.

The Rabbi Malcolm H. Stern Lifetime Achievement Award acknowledges a person whose optimistic affect and management have fostered unity and helped make household historical past a significant drive locally. This yr’s award recipient is William J. Forsyth, PMP. For greater than twenty years, Forsyth labored to advertise family tree within the library group in addition to family tree schooling by sponsoring Librarian’s Day for NGS, FGS, the American Library Affiliation, and several other giant regional conferences. He championed for funding from ProQuest to proceed efforts in help of Librarians’ Day at nationwide conferences and institutes. He additionally advocated for ProQuest’s sponsorship of the Filby Award for Genealogical Librarianship. By way of his work, Forsyth grew to become a luminary within the area of family tree.

The President’s Quotation is given in recognition of excellent, persevering with, or uncommon contributions to family tree or the Society. C. Ann Staley, CG, CGL, was awarded the 2022 President’s Quotation, honoring her years of service to the sphere. She was the NGS convention chair in 2016 and has been a member of the convention committee for quite a few years. In 2020 she was the host of the primary digital NGS convention, NGS Dwell! She has additionally served as an officer with the Jacksonville Genealogical Society; a volunteer with the Florida Genealogical Society answerable for Florida Genealogical Society webinars; and as vp of the Genealogical Audio system Guild.

The NGS 2022 Family History Conference continues by way of Saturday, 29 Could.